Perfect

“…love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47 And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? 48 Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.” (Matt 5:44-48 NIV)

* * *

In the spiritual life, beware of walking according to natural affinities. We must never let our likes and dislikes [of a particular type of people] rule in our Christian life…The example our Lord gives us is not that of a good man, or even a good Christian, but of God himself. “Be ye therefore perfect”… Show to the other man what God has shown you. To be a disciple means that we deliberately identify ourselves with God’s interests in other people.

The expression of Christian Character is not good doing but God-likeness. If the Spirit of god has transformed you within, you will exhibit Divine Characteristics, not good human Characteristics.

Being perfect is not about a human life trying to be godly, but living out God’s life in our lives.

The supernatural is made natural [in a Christian] by the grace of God, and the experience of this works out in the practical details of life, not in times of communion with God.

–O. Chambers

Perfection - the ultimate example is God -  The example our Lord gives us is not that of a good man, or even a good Christian, but of God himself. “Be ye therefore perfect”…

* * *

This week I was reminded how much is have yet to live up to Jesus’ standards and the example he set out for me. I’ve deluded myself thinking that a true experience with God is about communion—a feel-good high that lingers all day long after a deep study of the Bible, a lengthy prayer, an entry in my study journal—but that’s not what will make me experience God in me. Communion helps to refresh my soul, fortify me in my walk of life, and know God more. But I must live HIM in my life, and so love and go beyond myself for others. The true Christian experience demands perfection. It demands the experience of Christ lived out in my relationships with others. –PP

– – –

Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

4 thoughts on “Perfect

I'd love to hear from You!

