Should We Lose Sight of Him…

Devotion: Fidelity. Religious fervor. The state of being ardently dedicated and loyal.

 Is it a characteristic you have? Is it a characteristic I have?

Well, it is hard to admit it to myself—let alone here. But here it is: It’s obvious that I lack devotion in my life—I don’t practice my violin, I’ve gotten shamefully slack on my exercise routine, I’m rather sporadic when it comes to updating my blog. Shame shame.

Why am I bringing this up?

Well, dear reader, I had to return this week to one of the earliest lessons I learned when I began my walk with the Lord. You see, I lost sight of Him. Oh, it was only for a while, maybe a day, but that was enough. A single break in my devotion had me struggling to regain my footing.

* * *

Remember the story of Jesus when he was 12 years old and he went to the temple during Passover with Joseph and Mary? After the festivities, his parents went on their merry way back home assuming Jesus was with the other or with a friend and would join them when they made camp at night.

But Jesus had stayed back in Jerusalem at the temple. “By one day’s neglect [Mary and Joseph] lost the Savior; but it cost them three days of anxious search to find Him. So with us; by idle talk, evilspeaking, or neglect of prayer, we may in one day lose the Savior’s presence, and it may take many days of sorrowful search to find Him, and regain the peace that we have lost….

As we associate together, we may be a blessing to one another. If we are Christ’s, our sweetest thoughts will be of Him. We shall love to talk of Him; and as we speak to one another of His love, our hearts will be softened by divine influences. Beholding the beauty of His character, we shall be ‘changed into the same image from glory to glory’ 2 Corinthians 3:18.” [1]

* * *

While trying to find my way back to him, I thought he had gone away from me. But all the time he was the one by my side reminding me that I was missing out on great blessings that were mine for the taking.

If your devotion is not what it should be, don’t lose heart. Because . . .

You will seek the Lord your God and you will find him, if you search after him with all your heart and with all your soul…you will return to the Lord your God and obey his voice. For the Lord your God is a merciful God. He will not leave you or destroy you or forget (Deuteronomy 4:29-31)


[1] E. G. White Desire of Ages “The Passover Visit”

I'd love to hear from You!

